View Poll Results: Pick as many as apply

Voters
31. You may not vote on this poll
  • The TSA can do whateverthey want - including strip searches and body cavaty searches

    3 9.68%
  • The TSA should have limits on how invasive a search can be

    15 48.39%
  • The TSA is ineffective and should not exist at all

    11 35.48%
  • The TSA is necessary, but currently ineffective

    7 22.58%
  • The TSA is necessary and effective

    5 16.13%
  • The TSA should not exist (for reason(s) other than being ineffective)

    8 25.81%
  • The enhanced patdowns are excessive and need to be dropped.

    13 41.94%
  • The enhanced patdowns are excessive and need to be modified.

    6 19.35%
  • The enhanced patdowns are necessary to assure safety.

    3 9.68%
  • Less invasive and equally thorough methods are available.

    12 38.71%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 5 of 16 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 159

Thread: Opinions about the TSA and practices

  1. #41
    Electrician
    Bob Blaylock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    North 38°28′ West 121°26′
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 10:27 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    13,745

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Ikari View Post
    TSA should be abolished. It doesn't really do anything useful anymore other than get in our way and make us show up 3 hours before our departure time.
    …and provide jobs for legions of perverts who otherwise would almost certainly be unemployable.
    The five great lies of the Left Wrong:
    We can be Godless and free. • “Social justice” through forced redistribution of wealth. • Silencing religious opinions counts as “diversity”. • Freedom without moral and personal responsibility. • Civilization can survive the intentional undermining of the family.

  2. #42
    Electrician
    Bob Blaylock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    North 38°28′ West 121°26′
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 10:27 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    13,745

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Tigger View Post
    YES. Those people are spending their time in public. The government has a job to protect the general public. I have no problem being stopped and asked for my ID at any time by a LEO.
    Intrusive, unjustified searches, assaults, and molestations conducted by unrestrained government agents are among the things against which government has a duty to protect us.


    Quote Originally Posted by Tigger View Post
    I have no problem submitting myself and my vehicle to a search. I have nothing to hide.
    So you wouldn't object, then, if police officers insisted on searching your house, tapping your phone, monitoring your Internet usage, and whatever, without a warrant and without probable cause? After all, you have “nothing to hide”, right? Who needs the Fourth Amendment?
    The five great lies of the Left Wrong:
    We can be Godless and free. • “Social justice” through forced redistribution of wealth. • Silencing religious opinions counts as “diversity”. • Freedom without moral and personal responsibility. • Civilization can survive the intentional undermining of the family.

  3. #43
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The greatest city on Earth
    Last Seen
    08-04-12 @ 04:27 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    31,089

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Blaylock View Post
    …and provide jobs for legions of perverts who otherwise would almost certainly be unemployable.
    that's a mighty wide brush you got there. what evidence do you have that the TSA is employing legions of perverts?

  4. #44
    Electrician
    Bob Blaylock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    North 38°28′ West 121°26′
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 10:27 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    13,745

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by tcmartin10 View Post
    Depending how you interpret the court case involving Japanese internment camps during WWII. The federal government can legally do this. I am assuming since the federal government can suspend habeas corpus during war, they can give you a pat-down during elevated terrorist threats.
    I think it has been quite well established by now that the government acted illegally and unconstitutionally in detaining Japanese-Americans during World War Two. I do remember that quite some years ago, the government was compelled to pay some very generous reparations to all the surviving victims of that action.

    We really can't cite this action, and assume that is was legal, as evidence that other actions that similarly openly violate the Constitution are legal as well.
    The five great lies of the Left Wrong:
    We can be Godless and free. • “Social justice” through forced redistribution of wealth. • Silencing religious opinions counts as “diversity”. • Freedom without moral and personal responsibility. • Civilization can survive the intentional undermining of the family.

  5. #45
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    New England
    Last Seen
    05-01-14 @ 03:29 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    12,879

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Blaylock View Post
    There is no logic that you can use to classify airline travel as a “privilege” that exempts one from the normal protections of the law, that cannot equally be applied to nearly every other normal activity outside of one's home—shopping, seeing a movie, eating at a restaurant, or even just walking down the street.
    Exactly. I'm an Authoritarian and always have been. Since our culture and society are either unwilling or unable to maintain a standard of decency, who is left but the government to enforce one?


    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Blaylock View Post
    So you wouldn't object, then, if police officers insisted on searching your house, tapping your phone, monitoring your Internet usage, and whatever, without a warrant and without probable cause? After all, you have “nothing to hide”, right? Who needs the Fourth Amendment?
    Again, I've got nothing to hide. Personally, I'd do away with a fair number of the Amendments to the US Constitution, but that's just me.

  6. #46
    Electrician
    Bob Blaylock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    North 38°28′ West 121°26′
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 10:27 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    13,745

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Tigger View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by jamesrage View Post
    Even an invasive pat down and virtual strip search without a search warrant? If you say yet to that then at least you are consistent.
    Based on ANY form/level of probably cause, definitely.
    What probable cause do TSA agents have on which to base their molestation of airline passengers?
    The five great lies of the Left Wrong:
    We can be Godless and free. • “Social justice” through forced redistribution of wealth. • Silencing religious opinions counts as “diversity”. • Freedom without moral and personal responsibility. • Civilization can survive the intentional undermining of the family.

  7. #47
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The greatest city on Earth
    Last Seen
    08-04-12 @ 04:27 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    31,089

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Blaylock View Post
    What probable cause do TSA agents have on which to base their molestation of airline passengers?
    you keep using this hyperbolic word "molestation".

    do you consider the pat-down you get before you go into clubs, molestation?

  8. #48
    Electrician
    Bob Blaylock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    North 38°28′ West 121°26′
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 10:27 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    13,745

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by jamesrage View Post
    In my mind the vast majority of Americans have many more Rights than they truly deserve, bubba.
    Perhaps you'd be happier living someplace, then, like China or Cuba or Iran, where you can enjoy a level of rights and freedom more in line with what you deserve.
    The five great lies of the Left Wrong:
    We can be Godless and free. • “Social justice” through forced redistribution of wealth. • Silencing religious opinions counts as “diversity”. • Freedom without moral and personal responsibility. • Civilization can survive the intentional undermining of the family.

  9. #49
    Uncanny
    Paschendale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    New York City
    Last Seen
    03-31-16 @ 04:08 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Socialist
    Posts
    12,510

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Jucon View Post
    So by your analysis of the constitution, the TSA should need a warrant to search or scan your carry-on as well? Or am I reading your comment wrong?

    A police office shouldn't need a warrant to check you for weapons or contraband. Nor should a TSA officer who is ensuring safety on flights. If you don't like the pat downs, don't travel. Or drive to your destination. Or just quit looking so suspicious when you fly
    Actually, the requirement is that they must have a reasonable and articulable suspicion of criminal wrongdoing to detain and search you without a warrant. It's the same standard as when a cop pulls you over. The TSA does not have that. Simply wanting to fly on an airplane does not meet that requirement. The argument that you consent to these searches by opting to fly is entirely invalid, any more than you're consenting to be stopped and searched simply for driving a car. There is no legal way that the TSA can require these searches, and prevent a person from getting on a plane for refusing them.

    Updates after reading the rest of the thread: A warrant would not be necessary for a pre-airplane ride search, but it MUST be backed up by this suspicion evidence. This is a slightly lesser burden than probable cause, but it is still a burden of proof nonetheless.
    Last edited by Paschendale; 09-20-11 at 04:40 PM.
    Liberté. Égalité. Fraternité.

  10. #50
    Electrician
    Bob Blaylock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    North 38°28′ West 121°26′
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 10:27 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    13,745

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Tigger View Post
    Exactly. I'm an Authoritarian and always have been. Since our culture and society are either unwilling or unable to maintain a standard of decency, who is left but the government to enforce one?

    Again, I've got nothing to hide. Personally, I'd do away with a fair number of the Amendments to the US Constitution, but that's just me.
    You live in the wrong country, then. This nation is founded on principles that are unpalatable to you. Much greater men than you have any hope of ever being fought and died to establish and stand up for these principles. Much greater men than you have any hope of ever being wrote the Constitution, to protect these principles.


    “Contemplate the mangled bodies of your countrymen, and then say ‘what should be the reward of such sacrifices?’ Bid us and our posterity bow the knee, supplicate the friendship and plough, and sow, and reap, to glut the avarice of the men who have let loose on us the dogs of war to riot in our blood and hunt us from the face of the earth? If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquility of servitude than the animated contest of freedom — go home from us in peace. We ask not your counsels or arms. Crouch down and lick the hands which feed you. May your chains sit lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that you were our countrymen!”


    —Samuel Adams—
    The five great lies of the Left Wrong:
    We can be Godless and free. • “Social justice” through forced redistribution of wealth. • Silencing religious opinions counts as “diversity”. • Freedom without moral and personal responsibility. • Civilization can survive the intentional undermining of the family.

Page 5 of 16 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •