View Poll Results: Pick as many as apply

Voters
31. You may not vote on this poll
  • The TSA can do whateverthey want - including strip searches and body cavaty searches

    3 9.68%
  • The TSA should have limits on how invasive a search can be

    15 48.39%
  • The TSA is ineffective and should not exist at all

    11 35.48%
  • The TSA is necessary, but currently ineffective

    7 22.58%
  • The TSA is necessary and effective

    5 16.13%
  • The TSA should not exist (for reason(s) other than being ineffective)

    8 25.81%
  • The enhanced patdowns are excessive and need to be dropped.

    13 41.94%
  • The enhanced patdowns are excessive and need to be modified.

    6 19.35%
  • The enhanced patdowns are necessary to assure safety.

    3 9.68%
  • Less invasive and equally thorough methods are available.

    12 38.71%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 3 of 16 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 159

Thread: Opinions about the TSA and practices

  1. #21
    Sage
    jamesrage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    A place where common sense exists
    Last Seen
    12-10-17 @ 09:23 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    31,067

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Thunder View Post
    Airlines are privately-owned businesses. If they wish to implement pat-downs as part of their security screening, its their right.

    Don't like it? Find an airline that doesn't do it.

    People talk like they have a Constitutional right to fly a plane. Well, ya don't.

    Ride a train if pat-downs and body scans bother you.
    The TSA is a government agency, not a private one. The airlines can't say screw you TSA we will have our own security and they won't virtually strip search passengers and have invasive pat downs.
    Last edited by jamesrage; 09-20-11 at 01:39 PM.
    "A nation can survive its fools, and even the ambitious. But it cannot survive treason from within. An enemy at the gates is less formidable, for he is known and carries his banner openly. But the traitor moves amongst those within the gate freely, his sly whispers rustling through all the alleys, heard in the very halls of government itself. For the traitor appears not a traitor; he speaks in accents familiar to his victims, and he wears their face and their arguments, he appeals to the baseness that lies deep in the hearts of all men. He rots the soul of a nation, he works secretly and unknown in the night to undermine the pillars of the city, he infects the body politic so that it can no longer resist. A murder is less to fear"

    Cicero Marcus Tullius

  2. #22
    Sage
    jamesrage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    A place where common sense exists
    Last Seen
    12-10-17 @ 09:23 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    31,067

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Jucon View Post
    If you really think that we're on a slippery slope to where we have to be patted down in order to drive our cars, I have to question your sanity.
    Driving just like riding or flying in a plane is a PRIVILEGE, not a Right. So how can you call it s slippery slope.

    Terrorist attacks all over the world happen more with cars,buses and trains than they do airplanes. So if you support 4th amendment violations just because you fly on a plane then you open the for these things as well.
    "A nation can survive its fools, and even the ambitious. But it cannot survive treason from within. An enemy at the gates is less formidable, for he is known and carries his banner openly. But the traitor moves amongst those within the gate freely, his sly whispers rustling through all the alleys, heard in the very halls of government itself. For the traitor appears not a traitor; he speaks in accents familiar to his victims, and he wears their face and their arguments, he appeals to the baseness that lies deep in the hearts of all men. He rots the soul of a nation, he works secretly and unknown in the night to undermine the pillars of the city, he infects the body politic so that it can no longer resist. A murder is less to fear"

    Cicero Marcus Tullius

  3. #23
    Sage
    Ikari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Last Seen
    12-08-17 @ 01:05 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    54,124

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Frolicking Dinosaurs View Post
    I get patted down every single time I board a plane or ship thanks to metal in my hip and leg. I've had respectful pat downs and several that had me wanting to file sexual assault charges.
    TSA should be abolished. It doesn't really do anything useful anymore other than get in our way and make us show up 3 hours before our departure time.
    You know the time is right to take control, we gotta take offense against the status quo

    Quote Originally Posted by A. de Tocqueville
    "I should have loved freedom, I believe, at all times, but in the time in which we live I am ready to worship it."

  4. #24
    User
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Last Seen
    09-26-11 @ 12:21 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    90

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Blaylock View Post
    I completely agree.

    I'll go a bit further. These enhanced pat-downs and virtual strip searches ARE illegal.

    The Fourth Amendment is clear enough on setting limits on the authority of government to conduct any invasive searches of any kind. The searches being conducted by the TSA do not come anywhere even close to satisfying the Fourth Amendment, therefore, there is no authority to conduct these searches.

    Lacking such authority, various laws concerning assault apply. Touching someone without his consent is assault. Touching someone's intimate areas without consent is sexual assault. This conduct is illegal.

    I believe that the Fourth Nuremberg Principle should certainly apply here. “I was just following orders” should not be accepted as an excuse.

    TSA agents who conduct invasive strip searches and pat-downs, without proper probable cause, ought to be arrested and tried on appropriate charges of assault, sexual molestation, and violation of the victims' civil rights.

    As an American, I find it deeply shameful that my countrymen have become so complacent and cowardly that such outrageous conduct by agents of our government toward our people is tolerated. If the same spirit that prevailed at the time this nation was founded still prevailed today, this would not have gone nearly so far before it would have become routine for TSA perverts to be tarred and feathered, or even beaten to death by angry mobs.

    The great men who founded this country would not have even thought of tolerating this kind of crap from their government. Shame on us for tolerating it.
    I bet you would be mad if you missed your airplane cause they had to get a warrant from the local judge.

  5. #25
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Theoretical Physics Lab
    Last Seen
    01-06-15 @ 11:06 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    25,120

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Ikari
    TSA should be abolished. It doesn't really do anything useful anymore other than get in our way and make us show up 3 hours before our departure time.
    That's my major complaint. I'd be fine if I could show up 15 minutes before, take off my shoes, open my bags, let them grab my junk, and board.

    Might even get a few phone numbers out of the deal.

  6. #26
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    New England
    Last Seen
    05-01-14 @ 03:29 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    12,879

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by jamesrage View Post
    Would you tolerate the police doing this to people driving cars, riding cabs,trains and buses and people walking down the street?
    YES. Those people are spending their time in public. The government has a job to protect the general public. I have no problem being stopped and asked for my ID at any time by a LEO. I have no problem submitting myself and my vehicle to a search. I have nothing to hide.

  7. #27
    User
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Last Seen
    09-26-11 @ 12:21 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    90

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    The ultimate argument and point to be made about this topic in my opinion is simple. TSA is there as a government agency providing security. It is a lot easier for the government to set rules and enforce them with TSA, being since it is a government agency, than regulating private sector security. Or I believe it would be easier. And we do need security in airports. Not just terrorism, but more threats. Yes, it sucks that it may take an hour longer to get to your flight and full body scans. But I think lives are more important that someone taking a look at your goods and waiting in a long line. Or at least that is my way of looking at it.

  8. #28
    200M yrs of experience
    Frolicking Dinosaurs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Southeastern USA
    Last Seen
    05-07-12 @ 12:19 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    2,166

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Driving is not an option to some places. I have great-grandchildren and a granddaughter in Hawaii so I will be having a few pat downs to either board a plane or ship to go see them. I have quit flying as much as I once did because of the pat downs and elected not to cruise at all as have many of my elderly friends.

    I'm surprised the airline and cruise industries have not demanded something be done about the enhanced pat downs. My spending on air travel went from about $6,000 annually to $840 in the past 16 months and I quit taking an annual cruise. Consider the number of people who have knee or hip replacements that will result in pat downs every time that are taking similar action and you have a lot of lost revenue.

    I also have family members with young children who have quit flying on vacations because of the possibility that their child(ren) might be patted downs. Family vacation venues - places like SeaWorld and DisneyWorld - are losing money as well as families quit flying on vacations and therefore vacation closer to home
    I don't want to see religious bigotry in any form. It would disturb me if there was wedding between the religious fundamentalists and political right. The hard right has no interest in religion except to manipulate it. ~ Billy Graham in Parade magazine February 1, 1981.

  9. #29
    long standing member
    justabubba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Last Seen
    Today @ 03:06 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    36,136

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Tigger View Post
    YES. Those people are spending their time in public. The government has a job to protect the general public. I have no problem being stopped and asked for my ID at any time by a LEO.
    hell NO
    (s)he can arrest me or leave me alone. their choice
    but i refuse to offer my ID only because the leo wants to know who i am
    ... and why would i be expected to carry ID for them to look at. there is no such obligation on my part

    I have no problem submitting myself and my vehicle to a search.
    again, NO way is that going to happen
    i will be civil
    but if the leo wants to search my vehicle or residence or business office, they will need to bring a warrant

    I have nothing to hide.
    me either
    but i have something to protect

    my rights. and yours

    too many died for those rights to be so easily given away
    we are negotiating about dividing a pizza and in the meantime israel is eating it
    once you're over the hill you begin to pick up speed

  10. #30
    User
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Last Seen
    09-26-11 @ 12:21 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    90

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Depending how you interpret the court case involving Japanese internment camps during WWII. The federal government can legally do this. I am assuming since the federal government can suspend habeas corpus during war, they can give you a pat-down during elevated terrorist threats.

Page 3 of 16 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •