View Poll Results: Pick as many as apply

Voters
31. You may not vote on this poll
  • The TSA can do whateverthey want - including strip searches and body cavaty searches

    3 9.68%
  • The TSA should have limits on how invasive a search can be

    15 48.39%
  • The TSA is ineffective and should not exist at all

    11 35.48%
  • The TSA is necessary, but currently ineffective

    7 22.58%
  • The TSA is necessary and effective

    5 16.13%
  • The TSA should not exist (for reason(s) other than being ineffective)

    8 25.81%
  • The enhanced patdowns are excessive and need to be dropped.

    13 41.94%
  • The enhanced patdowns are excessive and need to be modified.

    6 19.35%
  • The enhanced patdowns are necessary to assure safety.

    3 9.68%
  • Less invasive and equally thorough methods are available.

    12 38.71%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 14 of 16 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 LastLast
Results 131 to 140 of 159

Thread: Opinions about the TSA and practices

  1. #131
    Sage
    Ikari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Last Seen
    12-08-17 @ 01:05 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    54,124

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Gipper View Post
    Yeah there is a heavy public element to it. I guess part of me just doesn't feel right with being lax when it could result in many, many deaths. I really don't want that in the back of my mind when I check my baggage next time.

    I know those who give up...meh, you know what he said...but I just don't have too much of a problem with getting shuffled through the line and being put at ease while doing so.

    I'm sorry if people think their bodies are temples.
    My body may not be a "temple" of sorts; but it certainly is my property. In that light, I have right to secure it against unreasonable search and seizure; particularly where the government is involved. If these advanced techniques significantly increased safety, there could at least be an argument there even if I don't agree with it. But there is no large increase in safety due to it.

    I'm not saying that there should be no security checks at airports; but rather that I want to limit it to that which is useful and actually provides benefit and limit large, aggressive search measures against everyone.
    You know the time is right to take control, we gotta take offense against the status quo

    Quote Originally Posted by A. de Tocqueville
    "I should have loved freedom, I believe, at all times, but in the time in which we live I am ready to worship it."

  2. #132
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Theoretical Physics Lab
    Last Seen
    01-06-15 @ 11:06 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    25,120

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Ikari
    I'm not saying that there should be no security checks at airports; but rather that I want to limit it to that which is useful and actually provides benefit and limit large, aggressive search measures against everyone.
    That's the thing though - I think a lot of these people making it sound like they were groped or given the equivalent of a cavity search are just being sensationalists. If some TSA punk was getting his jollies through giving out a honk to all the ladies passing by, I'd say can him. Having said that, running hands down the length of legs and checking the front/back in decent matters is fine. There are some people that cry foul if you even get within brushing-up distance of any "private place". Those are the people that are making this more newsworthy than it needs to be.

    When some creep tries to tune in Tokyo on your chest radio, we'll discuss a new effective plan.

  3. #133
    Sage
    Cephus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    CA
    Last Seen
    Today @ 07:31 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    29,803

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Thunder View Post
    you are more than welcome to sue to the TSA and argue your case that their searches at airports violate the Bill of Rights.
    Actually, there are quite a few lawsuits wending their way through the courts right now.
    There is nothing demonstrably true that religion can provide the world that cannot be achieved more rationally through entirely secular means.

    Blog me! YouTube me! VidMe me!

  4. #134
    200M yrs of experience
    Frolicking Dinosaurs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Southeastern USA
    Last Seen
    05-07-12 @ 12:19 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    2,166

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Gipper View Post
    That's the thing though - I think a lot of these people making it sound like they were groped or given the equivalent of a cavity search are just being sensationalists. If some TSA punk was getting his jollies through giving out a honk to all the ladies passing by, I'd say can him. Having said that, running hands down the length of legs and checking the front/back in decent matters is fine. There are some people that cry foul if you even get within brushing-up distance of any "private place". Those are the people that are making this more newsworthy than it needs to be..
    First, TSA pat downs are done by same-sex officers.

    Here is what happened to me in the Honolulu airport. I have a metal rod in my right leg and a bunch of metal ortho stuff in my hip. I set off metal detectors so I'm going to be patted down. I was offered an X-ray scan but declined as prior X-ray scans had resulted in a pat down anyway. This seemed to upset the TSA agents. The lady that patted me down patted me from ankle to ankle somewhat slower than normal and seemed to be giving special attention to my 'lady place'. She then pulled out the lower band of my bra and reached in to feel around in my cleavage (I am rather buxom). Finally, she told me to bend forward and pull my buttock cheeks apart and patted down my butt-crack.

    Those watching were gasping and pointing and talking about what the agent did. Several came up to me on the plane and said how sorry they were that I had been put thru such an ordeal. It is my understanding that someone videotaped what happened to me and it floating around somewhere on the net, but I have never seen it. Several people have told me they've seen it, including two from my church. I think I would burst into tears if I watched it.
    Last edited by Frolicking Dinosaurs; 09-21-11 at 04:09 PM.
    I don't want to see religious bigotry in any form. It would disturb me if there was wedding between the religious fundamentalists and political right. The hard right has no interest in religion except to manipulate it. ~ Billy Graham in Parade magazine February 1, 1981.

  5. #135
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Theoretical Physics Lab
    Last Seen
    01-06-15 @ 11:06 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    25,120

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    I think I need a cigarette.

  6. #136
    Sage
    Ikari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Last Seen
    12-08-17 @ 01:05 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    54,124

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Gipper View Post
    I think I need a cigarette.
    I think the point is that these pat downs are quite as non-invasive as you try to make them out to be. Perchance TSA really is going over the line. We haven't had a terrorist attack in 10 years, and not all that is due to TSA. Most is due to the properties of terrorist attack which were already infrequent on our state soil proper.
    You know the time is right to take control, we gotta take offense against the status quo

    Quote Originally Posted by A. de Tocqueville
    "I should have loved freedom, I believe, at all times, but in the time in which we live I am ready to worship it."

  7. #137
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Theoretical Physics Lab
    Last Seen
    01-06-15 @ 11:06 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    25,120

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Oh I agree that TSA does not deserve a great deal of credit for the lack of success by terrorists, but I think its mere existence does act as a deterrent.

    And yeah, I'd say what happened to FD was excessive, specifically given the lack of threat from a little old granny (no offense). Having said that, I think this is the exception and not the rule. I've seen lots of women essentially scream rape if they were touched on the shoulder.

    Is this the straw breaking the camel's back which leads to pretty much non-existent airport security in my book? No, not even close. I'd like to see there be more ethical ways to do these searches, but I'm not about to cough up security to do so.

  8. #138
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The greatest city on Earth
    Last Seen
    08-04-12 @ 04:27 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    31,089

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Gipper View Post
    I think I need a cigarette.
    I'll have what she's having.

  9. #139
    Enemy Combatant
    Kandahar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Last Seen
    10-15-13 @ 08:47 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    20,688

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Gipper View Post
    Start walking up the White House lawn and see if you don't get the Habib treatment.
    I think the difference is that I would have no justifiable reason for being on the White House lawn, whereas I would have a justifiable reason for being in the airport (i.e. I want to catch my flight).

    Searches like this are based on magnitude of threat. "Walking down the road" does not count, but if you're in the air with hundreds of innocent travelers or on the property of the leader of the free world, you're going to get watched a little more carefully, and rightfully so.
    So do you believe that everyone should be carefully searched in every situation where they are around hundreds of people? Shopping malls, sports stadiums, crowded plazas, trains, metros, Times Square, etc?

    Damn you people today. You think everything is a right.
    Damn you people today. You think that the Evil Bearded Man is lurking on every plane just waiting to kill you.

    Get searched or get out. Nobody said choice had to involve multiple favorable alternatives.
    It's not the fact that the alternatives are unfavorable that I object to. It's the fact that the alternatives are stupid and grossly disproportionate to the threat faced, and don't even work that well. And the most reasonable alternative (a basic metal detector that takes no more than 5 minutes to pass) isn't even available to many airline passengers.
    Are you coming to bed?
    I can't. This is important.
    What?
    Someone is WRONG on the internet! -XKCD

  10. #140
    I'm kind of a big deal

    AGENT J's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:04 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    44,831

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Cephus View Post
    In other words, you have no rational response. Gotcha.
    \

    nice try but 100% wrong.

    Walking down the street is not a parallel to flying to any rational objective honest person. If you can see that well you might not be in that category.

    Its pure dishonesty.
    This space is currently owned by The Great Winchester, stay tuned for future messages!
    Make America Great Again!
    Pro-Equal Rights / Pro-Gun Rights / Pro-Human Rights / Pro-Choice

Page 14 of 16 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •