View Poll Results: Pick as many as apply

Voters
31. You may not vote on this poll
  • The TSA can do whateverthey want - including strip searches and body cavaty searches

    3 9.68%
  • The TSA should have limits on how invasive a search can be

    15 48.39%
  • The TSA is ineffective and should not exist at all

    11 35.48%
  • The TSA is necessary, but currently ineffective

    7 22.58%
  • The TSA is necessary and effective

    5 16.13%
  • The TSA should not exist (for reason(s) other than being ineffective)

    8 25.81%
  • The enhanced patdowns are excessive and need to be dropped.

    13 41.94%
  • The enhanced patdowns are excessive and need to be modified.

    6 19.35%
  • The enhanced patdowns are necessary to assure safety.

    3 9.68%
  • Less invasive and equally thorough methods are available.

    12 38.71%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 13 of 16 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 130 of 159

Thread: Opinions about the TSA and practices

  1. #121
    pirate lover
    liblady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    St Thomas, VI
    Last Seen
    03-14-16 @ 03:55 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    16,165
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Frolicking Dinosaurs View Post
    Please explain how I can get to Hawaii without getting on a plane or a ship - both require a TSA check if I embark from the US or return to the US. The only alternative I can think of would be to drive to Canada or Mexico and embark / return to one of those countries, but I would still be violated when leaving Hawaii. It's not like I can drive from Oahu to another country. It is an island in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
    sail your own boat.

    Originally Posted by johnny_rebson:

    These are the same liberals who forgot how Iraq attacked us on 9/11.


  2. #122
    200M yrs of experience
    Frolicking Dinosaurs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Southeastern USA
    Last Seen
    05-07-12 @ 12:19 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    2,166

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by liblady View Post
    sail your own boat.
    I wish!!!!
    I don't want to see religious bigotry in any form. It would disturb me if there was wedding between the religious fundamentalists and political right. The hard right has no interest in religion except to manipulate it. ~ Billy Graham in Parade magazine February 1, 1981.

  3. #123
    Professor
    Travelsonic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Last Seen
    12-09-17 @ 03:45 PM
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    1,375

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by liblady View Post
    sail your own boat.
    really, that is not feasible at all.
    Nationalism in high dosages may be hazardous to your health. Please consult a psychiatrist before beginning a regular regimen, and if feelings of elitism and douchbaggery continue, discontinue immediately before you become unable to do so on your own.

  4. #124
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Theoretical Physics Lab
    Last Seen
    01-06-15 @ 11:06 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    25,120

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    I think private/charter planes aren't subject to TSA.

  5. #125
    Sage
    Cephus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    CA
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:26 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    29,774

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Thunder View Post
    Airlines are privately-owned businesses. If they wish to implement pat-downs as part of their security screening, its their right.
    The TSA is not a privately-owned group, it is mandated by the government. As such, it's not a choice by airlines, it's forced by the government.
    There is nothing demonstrably true that religion can provide the world that cannot be achieved more rationally through entirely secular means.

    Blog me! YouTube me! VidMe me!

  6. #126
    Sage
    Cephus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    CA
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:26 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    29,774

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by tcmartin10 View Post
    We are in "war." War on terror. As much BS as it sounds, thats what they call it. It seems more like "hide and go seek of terror."
    No we're not, no formal declaration of war has ever been made. It not only sounds like BS, it is BS.
    There is nothing demonstrably true that religion can provide the world that cannot be achieved more rationally through entirely secular means.

    Blog me! YouTube me! VidMe me!

  7. #127
    Sage
    Cephus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    CA
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:26 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    29,774

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Thunder View Post
    if the police have a reasonable suspicion that you may have an ABC weapon, they have the right to search you on the street or in your car, without a warrant.
    And where is their reasonable suspicion to search you at an airport?

    Oh wait, they have none!
    There is nothing demonstrably true that religion can provide the world that cannot be achieved more rationally through entirely secular means.

    Blog me! YouTube me! VidMe me!

  8. #128
    Sage
    Cephus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    CA
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 11:26 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Slightly Conservative
    Posts
    29,774

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Centrist77 View Post
    because Id like to participate in OBJECTIVE LOGICAL and RATIONAL debate.

    Trying to saying walking down the street is even close to the same ball park as flying is pure dishonesty.
    In other words, you have no rational response. Gotcha.
    There is nothing demonstrably true that religion can provide the world that cannot be achieved more rationally through entirely secular means.

    Blog me! YouTube me! VidMe me!

  9. #129
    200M yrs of experience
    Frolicking Dinosaurs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Southeastern USA
    Last Seen
    05-07-12 @ 12:19 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    2,166

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Gipper View Post
    I think private/charter planes aren't subject to TSA.
    You have to go thru a checkpoint to get to the boarding area at airports so unless you are also taking off at a private airport, you are subject to the search. If you know of any private airport capable of landing a plane large enough to carry the fuel required to fly from the west coast to Hawaii, feel free to share.
    I don't want to see religious bigotry in any form. It would disturb me if there was wedding between the religious fundamentalists and political right. The hard right has no interest in religion except to manipulate it. ~ Billy Graham in Parade magazine February 1, 1981.

  10. #130
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The greatest city on Earth
    Last Seen
    08-04-12 @ 04:27 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Moderate
    Posts
    31,089

    Re: Opinions about the TSA and practices

    Quote Originally Posted by Cephus View Post
    And where is their reasonable suspicion to search you at an airport?

    Oh wait, they have none!
    you are more than welcome to sue to the TSA and argue your case that their searches at airports violate the Bill of Rights.

Page 13 of 16 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •