View Poll Results: Why are Russian media opinions so different from US media opinions regarding Libya?

Voters
10. You may not vote on this poll
  • Russian Media are liars

    2 20.00%
  • USA Media are liars

    3 30.00%
  • Vested interests control media

    5 50.00%
  • Media sells wars and a good story is important

    6 60.00%
  • Media sells wars and the truth is important

    0 0%
  • It's unpatriotic to support Qaddaffi

    0 0%
  • It's patriotic to cheerlead for a war

    2 20.00%
  • War is just good business

    4 40.00%
  • It's bad for business to show the dead people

    3 30.00%
  • Qaddaffi doesn't provide free housing, education and healthcare etc.

    0 0%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Why are Russian media opinions so different from US media opinions regarding Libya?

  1. #1

  2. #2
    Gradualist

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Last Seen
    09-25-17 @ 12:48 PM
    Lean
    Socialist
    Posts
    34,949
    Blog Entries
    6

    Re: Why are Russian media opinions so different from US media opinions regarding Liby

    Almost all of the above....


  3. #3
    Uncanny
    Paschendale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    New York City
    Last Seen
    03-31-16 @ 04:08 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Socialist
    Posts
    12,510

    Re: Why are Russian media opinions so different from US media opinions regarding Liby

    I wouldn't really trust any country to accurately report international news about themselves. Every country will succumb to the desire to make themselves look better. During the Russia/Georgia conflict a few years ago, US news completely glossed over how the attacking Russian forces were acting to prevent genocide. The US took the position to make Russia look back, and to make ourselves look better. Australian news, however, had no personal interest in the story, and so reported it much more objectively. I mention Australian news specifically as I was in Australia at the time and had greatest access to their news.

    Russian media is no more corrupt than ours, at least not when confronted with the chance to make themselves look good.
    Liberté. Égalité. Fraternité.

  4. #4
    Enemy Combatant
    Kandahar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Last Seen
    10-15-13 @ 08:47 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    20,688

    Re: Why are Russian media opinions so different from US media opinions regarding Liby

    I think it's because Americans like to see themselves as the beacon of all that's good in the world...if we're bombing another country and killing civilians, it must somehow be for the "greater good." Whereas I suspect the Russian media is less likely to view Obama's military actions as fundamentally different than Gaddafi's: maybe neither of them INTEND to kill civilians in this conflict, but they certainly don't have a problem with doing so if it helps them achieve their geopolitical goals.

    The US government has killed far more civilians in pursuit of military hegemony than Gaddafi ever has, so I find it a bit silly when people cite Gaddafi's human rights abuses as a reason for NATO to forcibly depose him.
    Last edited by Kandahar; 07-10-11 at 10:38 PM.
    Are you coming to bed?
    I can't. This is important.
    What?
    Someone is WRONG on the internet! -XKCD

  5. #5
    OWL Forever
    katiegrrl0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    at the computer
    Last Seen
    07-07-17 @ 07:11 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Socialist
    Posts
    4,121

    Re: Why are Russian media opinions so different from US media opinions regarding Liby

    The nations have different goals and directions. The news has to very.
    The flame that is between us could set every soul on fire. I would love to take that heat and let's fill the whole world with desire.
    Sophie B. Hawkins

  6. #6
    Distributist
    Jeezy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Last Seen
    10-14-15 @ 03:15 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    1,326

    Re: Why are Russian media opinions so different from US media opinions regarding Liby

    Allow me to let you in on a big secret: Russia, historically, has not been the biggest fan of NATO.
    SWAGSWAGSWAGSWAGSWAGSWAGSWAGSWAG
    Quote Originally Posted by Josie
    Thanks for your awesomeness, Jeezy.

  7. #7
    Iconoclast
    DaveFagan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    wny
    Last Seen
    Today @ 08:42 PM
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    7,299

    Re: Why are Russian media opinions so different from US media opinions regarding Liby

    Quote Originally Posted by Jeezy View Post
    Allow me to let you in on a big secret: Russia, historically, has not been the biggest fan of NATO.
    Perhaps all those military exercises with Russia as the target have had a minor influence. Even the current "Radar" installations surrounding Russia are intimidating. Probably the reason they don't get rid of their 7-8,000 nuclear weapons. I wouldn't either.

  8. #8
    Mod Conspiracy Theorist
    rocket88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    A very blue state
    Last Seen
    Today @ 09:10 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    31,165

    Re: Why are Russian media opinions so different from US media opinions regarding Liby

    It's political. Russia sees itself as a superpower, and is doing what they can to exert influence.

    As far as the media, some of it is government controlled, and the rest of it hesitates to be too openly critical. Partly because of Putin's authoritarian streak, and partly because that's just how things have always been there.


    Quote Originally Posted by Jetboogieman View Post
    This issue has been plowed more times than Paris Hilton.
    Quote Originally Posted by Oborosen View Post
    Too bad we have to observe human rights.

  9. #9
    Iconoclast
    DaveFagan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    wny
    Last Seen
    Today @ 08:42 PM
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    7,299

    Re: Why are Russian media opinions so different from US media opinions regarding Liby

    Quote Originally Posted by rocket88 View Post
    It's political. Russia sees itself as a superpower, and is doing what they can to exert influence.

    As far as the media, some of it is government controlled, and the rest of it hesitates to be too openly critical. Partly because of Putin's authoritarian streak, and partly because that's just how things have always been there.
    That could just as easily be a description of USA MEDIA.

  10. #10
    Mod Conspiracy Theorist
    rocket88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    A very blue state
    Last Seen
    Today @ 09:10 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    31,165

    Re: Why are Russian media opinions so different from US media opinions regarding Liby

    Quote Originally Posted by DaveFagan View Post
    That could just as easily be a description of USA MEDIA.
    I don't know if I'd say Fox hesitates in it's criticism of Obama. Some of it is justified, but they sure don't pull any punches.

    Really, it's just a completely different culture. Americans look at George Washington as their paragon of a good leader. Russians tend to look at Ivan the Terrible as the paragon of a leader.


    Quote Originally Posted by Jetboogieman View Post
    This issue has been plowed more times than Paris Hilton.
    Quote Originally Posted by Oborosen View Post
    Too bad we have to observe human rights.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •