View Poll Results: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

Voters
81. You may not vote on this poll
  • I'm glad I voted for him.

    22 27.16%
  • I'm glad I didn't vote for him.

    42 51.85%
  • I wish I had voted for him.

    2 2.47%
  • I wish I hadn't voted for him.

    15 18.52%
Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 124

Thread: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

  1. #1
    Student SPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Missouri
    Last Seen
    10-02-11 @ 06:20 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    215

    What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    The question pretty well speaks for itself.

  2. #2
    Sage
    Ikari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Last Seen
    12-08-17 @ 01:05 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    54,124

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by SPC View Post
    The question pretty well speaks for itself.
    It was the same as it was before. I thought he was a Chicago politician who couldn't be trusted and wouldn't act terrible different from George Bush. And lo and behold, he did not disappoint.
    You know the time is right to take control, we gotta take offense against the status quo

    Quote Originally Posted by A. de Tocqueville
    "I should have loved freedom, I believe, at all times, but in the time in which we live I am ready to worship it."

  3. #3
    Guru
    Morality Games's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Last Seen
    05-24-16 @ 10:00 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    3,733

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    My opinion of Barack Obama is pretty distant from the reason why I voted for him.

    He won't seriously challenge special interests from Wall-Street and elsewhere, but he doesn't belong to them as much as a Republican candidate would have. He works for the American people about as much as a pragmatist can, which is more than he could have as the revolutionary reformer he was marketed as.

    The American people don't seem to grasp that our politicians respond not to our wishes or our wants, but our will. You can wish or want for things to be better, but unless you have the will to acknowledge problems and solve them, things won't get better.

    Wishes and wants can be manipulated with unfulfilled promises, culminating into greater catastrophes later. Only a strong will has a chance of achieving its object.

    My point being that if Obama is less than what he should be, it is because the American people don't enable him to be better.
    Last edited by Morality Games; 06-27-11 at 08:26 PM.
    If you notice something good in yourself, give credit to God, not to yourself, but be certain the evil you commit is always your own and yours to acknowledge.

    St. Benedict

  4. #4
    Sage
    apdst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bagdad, La.
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    76,496

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Obama did exactly what I expected him to: Spend too much time fixing things, that aren't broken.

  5. #5
    Gradualist

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Last Seen
    09-25-17 @ 12:48 PM
    Lean
    Socialist
    Posts
    34,949
    Blog Entries
    6

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    I still think he is the lesser of two evils...


  6. #6
    Sage
    disneydude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 12:36 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    25,145

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by apdst View Post
    Obama did exactly what I expected him to: Spend too much time fixing things, that aren't broken.
    LOL....then again....you're one of the ones that think that GWB left the country in great shape....not much to fix if you believe that.....
    <font size=5><b>Its been several weeks since the Vegas shooting.  Its it still "Too Early" or can we start having the conversation about finally doing something about these mass shootings???​</b></font>

  7. #7
    Sage
    Ikari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Last Seen
    12-08-17 @ 01:05 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    54,124

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by TheDemSocialist View Post
    I still think he is the lesser of two evils...
    Lesser of the two evils is still evil.
    You know the time is right to take control, we gotta take offense against the status quo

    Quote Originally Posted by A. de Tocqueville
    "I should have loved freedom, I believe, at all times, but in the time in which we live I am ready to worship it."

  8. #8
    Sage
    apdst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bagdad, La.
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:25 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    76,496

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by disneydude View Post
    LOL....then again....you're one of the ones that think that GWB left the country in great shape....not much to fix if you believe that.....
    So, what kind of shape is the country in, since Obama was elected?

    Things were going great, until the Dems took over Congress in 2007. Tell about all the awesome **** that the Democrats have fixed, since then. I can't wait to hear this.

  9. #9
    Sage
    Ikari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Last Seen
    12-08-17 @ 01:05 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    54,124

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by Morality Games View Post
    My opinion of Barack Obama is pretty distant from the reason why I voted for him.

    He won't seriously challenge special interests from Wall-Street and elsewhere, but he doesn't belong to them as much as a Republican candidate would have. He works for the American people about as much as a pragmatist can, which is more than he could have as the revolutionary reformer he was marketed as.

    The American people don't seem to grasp that our politicians respond not to our wishes or our wants, but our will. You can wish or want for things to be better, but unless you have the will to acknowledge problems and solve them, things won't get better.

    Wishes and wants can be manipulated with unfulfilled promises, culminating into greater catastrophes later. Only a strong will has a chance of achieving its object.

    My point being that if Obama is less than what he should be, it is because the American people don't enable him to be better.
    I don't think anything you said was true. Obama panders to the same group all politicians pander to. They're all indebted to the same group of people. Politicians do not respond to our will as much as they do their pocket book and their buddies. Which is why we see the emerging aristocracy. Obama is no different than any other politician out there.

    Though I didn't quite expect him to expand our forever war as much as he did. I figured he'd bomb Pakistan a little, sure; but he's really done above and beyond on that front.
    You know the time is right to take control, we gotta take offense against the status quo

    Quote Originally Posted by A. de Tocqueville
    "I should have loved freedom, I believe, at all times, but in the time in which we live I am ready to worship it."

  10. #10
    Student SPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Missouri
    Last Seen
    10-02-11 @ 06:20 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    215

    rolleyes Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by apdst View Post
    So, what kind of shape is the country in, since Obama was elected?

    Things were going great, until the Dems took over Congress in 2007. Tell about all the awesome **** that the Democrats have fixed, since then. I can't wait to hear this.

    I do find it interesting that the libs try to tout how great a President they think Obama is, but not one of them can come with one thing Obama has done to fix the economy or describe what that one thing did to fix it.

Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •