View Poll Results: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

Voters
81. You may not vote on this poll
  • I'm glad I voted for him.

    22 27.16%
  • I'm glad I didn't vote for him.

    42 51.85%
  • I wish I had voted for him.

    2 2.47%
  • I wish I hadn't voted for him.

    15 18.52%
Page 8 of 13 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 124

Thread: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

  1. #71
    Sage

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Last Seen
    11-17-17 @ 12:48 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    19,610

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by Zyphlin View Post

    1. He drew down troops in Iraq in accordance with the generalized time table, plan, and policy put into place by George W. Bush

    2. He intensified action in Afghanistan modeled after the Surge strategy presented by George W. Bush, and regardless increased/maintained the large number of U.S. forces abroad and continuing the engagements in the middle east similar to Bush

    3. Yes, he did end DADT

    4. With NATO or not, Barack Obama has continued the policy of using the U.S. military as the worlds police, interjecting itself into further middle east region conflicts with U.S. soldiers. Regardless of whether or not US is in the lead, he's still pushing for our men and women to be over there.

    5. Yes, he did do health care reform and further worked to expand government, similar to when Bush did medicare reform and his continued actions of expanding the government.

    They may at times have taken similar roads but many of their destinations have been the same.
    1. Obama's timetable got combat troops out of Iraq a year earlier than Bush's timetable. That's pretty significant in terms of who wants to end the conflict more quickly. Difference #1.

    2. Bush and Obama did agree on the surge, so I concede the point.

    3. He supported its end and pushed for it to end - which is what president's do and what I was referring to. Did Bush? No. Difference #2.

    4. There are huge differences between Libya and Iraq in time, money and personnel committed and they matter. How you conduct military affairs does, in fact, illustrate significant differences. Difference #3.

    5. Did Bush support Obama's healthcare reform? No. Moreover, Bush's Medicare reform was not even close to the level of change created by Obama's healthcare reforms. Difference #4.

    You can obviously twist and spin anything any president's ever done to make him look similar to every other president, but that's not an accurate picture. Most presidents are going to work towards similar ends, but it's about HOW they get there that measures the difference. For example, our foreign policy goals in the ME are consistent, but one president chose primarily unilateral action that cost us too much money, time and men. The other chose primarily multilateral action with minimal US involvement. Bush and Obama are not that similar at all.

  2. #72
    Sage

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Last Seen
    11-17-17 @ 12:48 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    19,610

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ockham View Post
    Yes, I'm sure you do.
    I'm sure I do what? I didn't make any claims about what I do in the post you quoted.

  3. #73
    Noblesse oblige
    Ockham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    New Jersey
    Last Seen
    01-27-17 @ 07:23 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    23,909
    Blog Entries
    4

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by theplaydrive View Post
    I'm sure I do what? I didn't make any claims about what I do in the post you quoted.
    I'm sure you do think that... but what I was thinking while I posted that was:

    “I think if Thomas Jefferson were looking down, the author of the Bill of Rights, on what’s being proposed here, he’d agree with it. He would agree that the First Amendment cannot be absolute.” - Chuck Schumer (D). Yet, Madison and Mason wrote the Bill of Rights, according to Sheila Jackson Lee, 400 years ago. Yup, it's a fact.


  4. #74
    Sage

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Last Seen
    11-17-17 @ 12:48 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    19,610

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ockham View Post
    I'm sure you do think that... but what I was thinking while I posted that was:

    I haven't had that in a while actually, but now that you mention it, I'll probably pick some up the next time I go to the store. Thanks.

  5. #75
    Sage
    disneydude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Last Seen
    12-08-17 @ 05:00 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    25,129

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by apdst View Post
    Things were going great, until the Dems took over Congress in 2007.
    That's what you call a distorted view of reality....right there.
    <font size=5><b>Its been several weeks since the Vegas shooting.  Its it still "Too Early" or can we start having the conversation about finally doing something about these mass shootings???​</b></font>

  6. #76
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Last Seen
    11-29-16 @ 07:28 AM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    1,441

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    I didn't vote for him, and knew he was a fraud before the election. I read this man's bio of him a couple of months before the election.

    ZCommunications | Obama, As Predicted by Paul Street | ZNet Article

    He's the perfect Republican candidate, which is why the attacks on him from the Goofy Right are so ludicrous.

    Another pre-election article on Obama by Street:

    OBama's White Appeal

    Neo-liberals felt very comfortable voting for him, always a bad sign.
    Last edited by Oberon; 06-29-11 at 01:43 AM. Reason: Additions

  7. #77
    User
    Chappy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    San Francisco
    Last Seen
    04-07-15 @ 01:50 AM
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    2,443
    Blog Entries
    26

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Obama is a politician blessed by the incompetence and incoherence of his opponents.

    He will be remembered as a great president, fourth only to Washington, Lincoln and FDR.

    Repeal the Twenty-second!
    “Real environmentalists live in cities, and they visit what's left of the wilderness as gently and respectfully as possible.” — Donna Moulton, letter to the editor, Tucson Weekly, published on August 23, 2001

  8. #78
    Baby Eating Monster
    Korimyr the Rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Laramie, WY
    Last Seen
    11-23-17 @ 02:02 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    18,709
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by Chappy View Post
    Obama is a politician blessed by the incompetence and incoherence of his opponents.
    Sadly. But outrunning the short bus don't make you NASCAR. He'll have to be blessed by some actual achievements first, before he's remembered as anything but a mediocrity, a footnote.

  9. #79
    Equal Opportunity Hater
    obvious Child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    0.0, -2.3 on the Political Compass
    Last Seen
    12-09-14 @ 11:36 PM
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    19,883

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by Zyphlin View Post
    ...only works one way Ock! Conservatives who tout Obama is bad but don't speak poorly of bush are obviously hypocrites, but those who bash/bashed Bush but tout that Obama is good are completely legitimate.
    Unforunately, we have a glut of those "conservatives" here.
    "If your opponent is of choleric temperament, seek to irritate him." - Sun Tzu

  10. #80
    Sage
    akyron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 12:46 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    6,434

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by Your Star View Post
    I'm glad I voted for him, he has done a much better job then McCain would have IMO. Though he has disappointed in several areas, and hasn't brought the change I voted for.
    Actually I believe he would have done pretty much the same. MCcain is a wishy washy windblown professional politician. The big difference between them was MCcain was the devil in a suit. El Presidente was just an empty suit who has since proven to be another devil in a suit.

    Its tough to vote for these guys when you are offered crap or yesterdays crap as a choice.
    Thank you

Page 8 of 13 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •