View Poll Results: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

Voters
81. You may not vote on this poll
  • I'm glad I voted for him.

    22 27.16%
  • I'm glad I didn't vote for him.

    42 51.85%
  • I wish I had voted for him.

    2 2.47%
  • I wish I hadn't voted for him.

    15 18.52%
Page 6 of 13 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 124

Thread: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

  1. #51
    Global Moderator
    Rage More!
    Your Star's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Liberal
    Posts
    26,361

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    I'm glad I voted for him, he has done a much better job then McCain would have IMO. Though he has disappointed in several areas, and hasn't brought the change I voted for.
    Eat me, drink me, love me;
    Laura make much of me

  2. #52
    Guru
    Morality Games's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Last Seen
    05-24-16 @ 10:00 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    3,733

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by Khayembii Communique View Post
    That's completely irrelevant regarding powers the administration does have.
    Representatives in Congress have formed political networks centered around advancing the plans and interests of Wall-Street, some of which are quite old and have lasted across generations, or at least, taken over from where other networks left off. They have every advantage over Obama; there is nothing he can do to break up those networks. The only people who can do that are the American people (by hunting down and voting out every politician with a hint of money ties), and the American people aren't hungry enough for it to make it happen.
    Last edited by Morality Games; 06-28-11 at 03:38 AM.
    If you notice something good in yourself, give credit to God, not to yourself, but be certain the evil you commit is always your own and yours to acknowledge.

    St. Benedict

  3. #53
    Equal Opportunity Hater
    obvious Child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    0.0, -2.3 on the Political Compass
    Last Seen
    12-09-14 @ 11:36 PM
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    19,883

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by SPC View Post



    I do find it interesting that the libs try to tout how great a President they think Obama is, but not one of them can come with one thing Obama has done to fix the economy or describe what that one thing did to fix it.
    What is more interesting is that the "conseratives" tout how bad Obama is but then fail to recognize or refute arguments showing how Obama is basically Bush. Ikari is dead on the money. It's hilarious to watch Bush Backers suddenly reject the same policies of their own former President.
    "If your opponent is of choleric temperament, seek to irritate him." - Sun Tzu

  4. #54
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Everywhere and Nowhere
    Last Seen
    03-07-12 @ 03:28 AM
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    3,692

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    I honestly didn't vote in the last election. It was a choice between McCain and a Chicago politician... I didn't trust either.

    My confidence in government is fairly low at this point, especially the office of POTUS. I agree with the general sentiment of this thread, that we are seeing an emerging aristocracy that is gradually not accountable to the people. The only thing sort of balancing things out right now is SCOTUS but that is slowly eroding as more cronies are added to the bench. And congress? Forget it.

    I try to remain hopeful, but every time I watch our politicians speak I can't help but feel like our nation is doomed.

  5. #55
    Baby Eating Monster
    Korimyr the Rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Laramie, WY
    Last Seen
    11-23-17 @ 02:02 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    18,709
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    I was worried before the election that his agenda was too radical; now I am just concerned that we cannot afford the continuation of Bush's policies.

  6. #56
    Global Moderator
    Moderator

    Zyphlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    NoMoAuchie
    Last Seen
    @
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    47,967

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Obama was pretty much everything short of a constitutional amendment that I disliked about Bush and then adds a whole heap load of additional crap on top.

  7. #57
    Noblesse oblige
    Ockham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    New Jersey
    Last Seen
    01-27-17 @ 07:23 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Right
    Posts
    23,909
    Blog Entries
    4

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by Your Star View Post
    I'm glad I voted for him, he has done a much better job then McCain would have IMO. Though he has disappointed in several areas, and hasn't brought the change I voted for.
    So you must have liked G.W. Bush then too, as Obama has primarily done the same thing as G.W. Bush (2006-2008) as Obama is doing from 2008-2011.
    I think if Thomas Jefferson were looking down, the author of the Bill of Rights, on whats being proposed here, hed agree with it. He would agree that the First Amendment cannot be absolute. - Chuck Schumer (D). Yet, Madison and Mason wrote the Bill of Rights, according to Sheila Jackson Lee, 400 years ago. Yup, it's a fact.


  8. #58
    global liberation

    ecofarm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Miami
    Last Seen
    Today @ 09:13 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    66,359

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    I like him better now.

    1. Heathcare was watered-down.
    2. Push for gay rights in the military happened.
    3. Handled Iraq and Afghanistan reasonably.
    4. Kicked ass in Libya.
    5. Killed OBL, and some pirates.
    6. Michelle is great, especially her attention to food and gardening.

    I could come up with other things, but I've had plenty of pleasant surprises this presidency. I really didn't like the bailouts or the bowing routine, but I'll get over it.

    7. Didn't close Gitmo.
    Last edited by ecofarm; 06-28-11 at 10:06 AM.

  9. #59
    Sage

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Last Seen
    11-17-17 @ 12:48 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    19,610

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ockham View Post
    So you must have liked G.W. Bush then too, as Obama has primarily done the same thing as G.W. Bush (2006-2008) as Obama is doing from 2008-2011.
    Except he drew down troops in Iraq, intensified action in Afghanistan, got rid of DADT, passed some version of universal healthcare and entered Libya WITH NATO not making this a US endeavor, all things Bush didn't do and wouldn't have done.

  10. #60
    Sage
    Khayembii Communique's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 04:02 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    7,881

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by Morality Games
    Representatives in Congress have formed political networks centered around advancing the plans and interests of Wall-Street, some of which are quite old and have lasted across generations, or at least, taken over from where other networks left off. They have every advantage over Obama; there is nothing he can do to break up those networks. The only people who can do that are the American people (by hunting down and voting out every politician with a hint of money ties), and the American people aren't hungry enough for it to make it happen.
    Obama has no interest in breaking those up because his administration is complicit in furthering those interests. Nor can the American people do anything about it as it is inherent in the structure of the electoral system itself.

    Except he drew down troops in Iraq, intensified action in Afghanistan, got rid of DADT, passed some version of universal healthcare and entered Libya WITH NATO not making this a US endeavor, all things Bush didn't do and wouldn't have done.
    The Iraq troop drawdown was to intensify intervention in Afghanistan, Pakistan and other regions. That's certainly in line with Bush policy. He didn't get rid of DADT, nor did he pass anything close to resembling universal healthcare.

    Libya was a NATO affair because it primarily concerned French and Italian imperialism attempting to exploit the destabilization of the country due to the popular opposition to Qadaffi. The US is playing a complementary role to the French/Italians, not a commanding role.
    "I do not claim that every incident in the history of empire can be explained in directly economic terms. Economic interests are filtered through a political process, policies are implemented by a complex state apparatus, and the whole system generates its own momentum."

Page 6 of 13 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •