View Poll Results: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

Voters
81. You may not vote on this poll
  • I'm glad I voted for him.

    22 27.16%
  • I'm glad I didn't vote for him.

    42 51.85%
  • I wish I had voted for him.

    2 2.47%
  • I wish I hadn't voted for him.

    15 18.52%
Page 4 of 13 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 124

Thread: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

  1. #31
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    In your dreams...
    Last Seen
    05-29-12 @ 02:53 PM
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    10,621

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by Khayembii Communique View Post
    He has taken everything that Bush did that he was criticized for and magnified it exponentially. He is one of the most blatant pro-imperialist, anti-working class presidents that we have had in decades, possibly worse than Reagan.
    Im not sure whether he as executive is capable of even structurally implementing any help to the working class. As for the American 'empire'... well if you live in a house you maintain it, unfortunately.

  2. #32
    Sage
    Khayembii Communique's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 12:31 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    7,879

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Im not sure whether he as executive is capable of even structurally implementing any help to the working class. As for the American 'empire'... well if you live in a house you maintain it, unfortunately.
    Yes I'm sure the Obama administration had absolutely nothing to do with giving billions of dollars to banks who caused the worst economic crisis in global history, completely failing to make any meaningful regulatory changes along the way.

    Stalin was just a pawn the purges weren't his fault he just wanted to expel them from the party, honest!
    "I do not claim that every incident in the history of empire can be explained in directly economic terms. Economic interests are filtered through a political process, policies are implemented by a complex state apparatus, and the whole system generates its own momentum."

  3. #33
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Last Seen
    07-25-13 @ 08:55 AM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    1,951

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Now I think of Barack Obama as the most corrupt and incompetent Presidential slimball to ever slither out of the cesspool of corruption that is ****cago..........but I also thought that before he was elected.

    .... soon we can all think of him as The Worst President in History.
    .
    .
    .
    .......with that said.....I still have more respect for Obama than the 50 million Americans that willingly and knowingly decided to give the reigns of the United States to someone who never ran so much as a lemonade stand--Barack Obama.
    .
    .
    .
    .

  4. #34
    Basketball Nerd
    StillBallin75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Vilseck, Germany
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 07:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    21,896

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by Khayembii Communique View Post
    Yes I'm sure the Obama administration had absolutely nothing to do with giving billions of dollars to banks who caused the worst economic crisis in global history, completely failing to make any meaningful regulatory changes along the way.

    Stalin was just a pawn the purges weren't his fault he just wanted to expel them from the party, honest!
    that's a really ****ty analogy.
    Nobody who wins a war indulges in a bifurcated definition of victory. War is a political act; victory and defeat have meaning only in political terms. A country incapable of achieving its political objectives at an acceptable cost is losing the war, regardless of battlefield events.

    Bifurcating victory (e.g. winning militarily, losing politically) is a useful salve for defeated armies. The "stab in the back" narrative helped take the sting out of failure for German generals after WWI and their American counterparts after Vietnam.

    All the same, it's nonsense. To paraphrase Vince Lombardi, show me a political loser, and I'll show you a loser.
    - Colonel Paul Yingling

  5. #35
    Angry Former GOP Voter
    Fiddytree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:58 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    25,637

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by StillBallin75 View Post
    that's a really ****ty analogy.
    It's all he knows.
    Michael J Petrilli-"Is School Choice Enough?"-A response to the recent timidity of American conservatives toward education reform. https://nationalaffairs.com/publicat...-choice-enough

  6. #36
    Sage
    Khayembii Communique's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 12:31 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    7,879

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    that's a really ****ty analogy.
    Not really. The idea that a prominent political figure is just a helpless victim of his own circumstances, powerless to enact change, is common among both the Stalinist and pro-Obama crowd. I consider them equally delusional, too.
    "I do not claim that every incident in the history of empire can be explained in directly economic terms. Economic interests are filtered through a political process, policies are implemented by a complex state apparatus, and the whole system generates its own momentum."

  7. #37
    Gradualist

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Last Seen
    09-25-17 @ 12:48 PM
    Lean
    Socialist
    Posts
    34,949
    Blog Entries
    6

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ikari View Post
    Lesser of the two evils is still evil.
    Agreed but he is just "lesser"


  8. #38
    Basketball Nerd
    StillBallin75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Vilseck, Germany
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 07:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    21,896

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by Khayembii Communique View Post
    Not really. The idea that a prominent political figure is just a helpless victim of his own circumstances, powerless to enact change, is common among both the Stalinist and pro-Obama crowd. I consider them equally delusional, too.
    The difference is Stalin was ACTUALLY a dictator who didn't need to look to the next election campaign.
    Nobody who wins a war indulges in a bifurcated definition of victory. War is a political act; victory and defeat have meaning only in political terms. A country incapable of achieving its political objectives at an acceptable cost is losing the war, regardless of battlefield events.

    Bifurcating victory (e.g. winning militarily, losing politically) is a useful salve for defeated armies. The "stab in the back" narrative helped take the sting out of failure for German generals after WWI and their American counterparts after Vietnam.

    All the same, it's nonsense. To paraphrase Vince Lombardi, show me a political loser, and I'll show you a loser.
    - Colonel Paul Yingling

  9. #39
    Sage
    pbrauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Oregon
    Last Seen
    11-27-15 @ 03:31 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    25,394

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by SPC View Post
    Ronald Reagan.
    What was so great about President Reagan? Higher taxes than today? Iran Contra? Tripling the the national debt?

  10. #40
    Gradualist

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Last Seen
    09-25-17 @ 12:48 PM
    Lean
    Socialist
    Posts
    34,949
    Blog Entries
    6

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    This is how i see Obama from everyone point of view...
    Extreme Conservatives (Tea Party): Obama is a socialist, nazi, fascist, communist, liberal muslim, he has done nothing right and everything is his big evil fascist nazi governments fault.
    Conservatives: Obama sucks he has done nothing right.
    Moderate Republicans: Ehh i can agree with some of the things he has done but he is still not a lot better, i agree that he inherited a sh*t hole but he has tried ill give him that.
    Centrists: He is alright. Has some stuff to work on.
    Blue Dogs: I hate his economic policy but everything else is alright.
    Democrats: Almost the same as blue dogs except they agree with a bit more of his economic policy.
    Liberals: Barack Obama is awesome! We love everything about him even his interventionist foreign policy even tho we hated that in the Bush administration!
    Leftists: Obama is the lesser of two evils. Dont agree with his economic policy that much. Hate his foreign policy. Pussed out on basically everything.


Page 4 of 13 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •