View Poll Results: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

Voters
81. You may not vote on this poll
  • I'm glad I voted for him.

    22 27.16%
  • I'm glad I didn't vote for him.

    42 51.85%
  • I wish I had voted for him.

    2 2.47%
  • I wish I hadn't voted for him.

    15 18.52%
Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 124

Thread: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

  1. #21
    Student SPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Missouri
    Last Seen
    10-02-11 @ 06:20 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    215

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ikari View Post
    When was the last time a President made something better?

    Ronald Reagan.

  2. #22
    Sage
    Ikari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Last Seen
    12-08-17 @ 01:05 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    54,124

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by SPC View Post
    Ronald Reagan.
    He did some good things. Though the whole Iran/Contra thing was maybe not the best thing (but the government does like to sell drugs and guns...hard to get them to stop). Still given the overall, I kinda like Reagan and he was one of the best modern day Presidents we've had. Still; it's been a downhill slide since him.
    You know the time is right to take control, we gotta take offense against the status quo

    Quote Originally Posted by A. de Tocqueville
    "I should have loved freedom, I believe, at all times, but in the time in which we live I am ready to worship it."

  3. #23
    Sage

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Last Seen
    11-17-17 @ 12:48 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    19,610

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by SPC View Post
    The question pretty well speaks for itself.
    I'm glad I voted for him. I'm disappointed that he didn't go as far with his promises as he said he would, but still happy I voted for him. I never expected any economic miracles from him so my feelings haven't been greatly affected by what others perceive as complete failure.

  4. #24
    Basketball Nerd
    StillBallin75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Vilseck, Germany
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 07:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    21,896

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by other View Post
    which GOP alternative would you choose over obama?
    Probably Huntsman. But I doubt he will win the primary.
    Last edited by StillBallin75; 06-27-11 at 09:11 PM.
    Nobody who wins a war indulges in a bifurcated definition of victory. War is a political act; victory and defeat have meaning only in political terms. A country incapable of achieving its political objectives at an acceptable cost is losing the war, regardless of battlefield events.

    Bifurcating victory (e.g. winning militarily, losing politically) is a useful salve for defeated armies. The "stab in the back" narrative helped take the sting out of failure for German generals after WWI and their American counterparts after Vietnam.

    All the same, it's nonsense. To paraphrase Vince Lombardi, show me a political loser, and I'll show you a loser.
    - Colonel Paul Yingling

  5. #25
    Basketball Nerd
    StillBallin75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Vilseck, Germany
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 07:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    21,896

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by apdst View Post
    So, you're one of the ones that we can blame for flushing the country down the toilet?

    There's an old saying to go along with you voting for him a second time.
    Grass is always greener on the other side bro.
    Nobody who wins a war indulges in a bifurcated definition of victory. War is a political act; victory and defeat have meaning only in political terms. A country incapable of achieving its political objectives at an acceptable cost is losing the war, regardless of battlefield events.

    Bifurcating victory (e.g. winning militarily, losing politically) is a useful salve for defeated armies. The "stab in the back" narrative helped take the sting out of failure for German generals after WWI and their American counterparts after Vietnam.

    All the same, it's nonsense. To paraphrase Vince Lombardi, show me a political loser, and I'll show you a loser.
    - Colonel Paul Yingling

  6. #26
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    In your dreams...
    Last Seen
    05-29-12 @ 02:53 PM
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    10,621

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    What economic miracle would be possible announcements of a recession were witheld until the end of elections even.

  7. #27
    Sage

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Last Seen
    11-17-17 @ 12:48 PM
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    19,610

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by SE102 View Post
    What economic miracle would be possible announcements of a recession were witheld until the end of elections even.
    It seems to me that some people believed Obama would make the unemployment rate 1% and we'd be economically flourishing right now. I wasn't expecting either, so I'm okay with his presidency thus far.

  8. #28
    Student SPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Missouri
    Last Seen
    10-02-11 @ 06:20 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    215

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by theplaydrive View Post
    It seems to me that some people believed Obama would make the unemployment rate 1% and we'd be economically flourishing right now. I wasn't expecting either, so I'm okay with his presidency thus far.
    Instead it shot up to 9.1%

  9. #29
    Sage
    Khayembii Communique's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Last Seen
    Yesterday @ 12:31 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Undisclosed
    Posts
    7,879

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    He has taken everything that Bush did that he was criticized for and magnified it exponentially. He is one of the most blatant pro-imperialist, anti-working class presidents that we have had in decades, possibly worse than Reagan.
    "I do not claim that every incident in the history of empire can be explained in directly economic terms. Economic interests are filtered through a political process, policies are implemented by a complex state apparatus, and the whole system generates its own momentum."

  10. #30
    Guru
    Morality Games's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Last Seen
    05-24-16 @ 10:00 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    3,733

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by SPC View Post
    Instead it shot up to 9.1%
    You can't argue for a free market and then complain when the government can't make it prosperous.

    He has taken everything that Bush did that he was criticized for and magnified it exponentially. He is one of the most blatant pro-imperialist, anti-working class presidents that we have had in decades, possibly worse than Reagan.
    I think that has more to do with the times than Obama specifically.
    Last edited by Morality Games; 06-27-11 at 09:28 PM.
    If you notice something good in yourself, give credit to God, not to yourself, but be certain the evil you commit is always your own and yours to acknowledge.

    St. Benedict

Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •