View Poll Results: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

Voters
81. You may not vote on this poll
  • I'm glad I voted for him.

    22 27.16%
  • I'm glad I didn't vote for him.

    42 51.85%
  • I wish I had voted for him.

    2 2.47%
  • I wish I hadn't voted for him.

    15 18.52%
Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 124

Thread: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

  1. #11
    Basketball Nerd
    StillBallin75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Vilseck, Germany
    Last Seen
    12-10-17 @ 07:52 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Progressive
    Posts
    21,896

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Not enough options

    I voted for him in 2008, and depending on who the GOP alternative is in 2012, I'll probably vote for him again.

    However, I believe his performance as President thus far has been rather mediocre.
    Nobody who wins a war indulges in a bifurcated definition of victory. War is a political act; victory and defeat have meaning only in political terms. A country incapable of achieving its political objectives at an acceptable cost is losing the war, regardless of battlefield events.

    Bifurcating victory (e.g. winning militarily, losing politically) is a useful salve for defeated armies. The "stab in the back" narrative helped take the sting out of failure for German generals after WWI and their American counterparts after Vietnam.

    All the same, it's nonsense. To paraphrase Vince Lombardi, show me a political loser, and I'll show you a loser.
    - Colonel Paul Yingling

  2. #12
    Sage
    RamFel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Last Seen
    Today @ 11:09 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    7,099
    Quote Originally Posted by SPC View Post
    The question pretty well speaks for itself.
    He stinks!
    We do not want word to go out that we want to exterminate the Negro population. Margaret Sanger, founder of Planned Parenthood, 1939

  3. #13
    Sage
    apdst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bagdad, La.
    Last Seen
    Today @ 02:43 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    76,552

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by StillBallin75 View Post
    Not enough options

    I voted for him in 2008, and depending on who the GOP alternative is in 2012, I'll probably vote for him again.

    However, I believe his performance as President thus far has been rather mediocre.
    So, you're one of the ones that we can blame for flushing the country down the toilet?

    There's an old saying to go along with you voting for him a second time.

  4. #14
    Professor
    other's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    VA
    Last Seen
    01-22-14 @ 11:01 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Conservative
    Posts
    1,473

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by StillBallin75 View Post
    Not enough options

    I voted for him in 2008, and depending on who the GOP alternative is in 2012, I'll probably vote for him again.

    However, I believe his performance as President thus far has been rather mediocre.
    which GOP alternative would you choose over obama?

  5. #15
    Guru
    Morality Games's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Last Seen
    05-24-16 @ 10:00 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Centrist
    Posts
    3,733

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    I don't think anything you said was true. Obama panders to the same group all politicians pander to. They're all indebted to the same group of people. Politicians do not respond to our will as much as they do their pocket book and their buddies. Which is why we see the emerging aristocracy. Obama is no different than any other politician out there.
    That system exists only because the American people don't punish people who take part in it; they are comfortable with the theatricality and uproar of American politics. Obama could choose to "not play ball", but that street goes both ways, as Carter learned the hard way. If you don't play ball, then people either choose to not comply with your policies or oppose them as vigorously as they can.

    The special interests socio-cultural network that dominates American politics exists in the cracks ofAmerican ignorance and lack of will power. If that crack was closed, the only politicians up for office would be ethical and civic minded people prepared for the responsibilities of leadership.

    Though I didn't quite expect him to expand our forever war as much as he did. I figured he'd bomb Pakistan a little, sure; but he's really done above and beyond on that front.
    The wars are like every other situation Obama has faced. They are processes involving massive numbers of resources, people, and interests, working according to a logic and with a momentum that no individual can effectively control.

    Obama could try to radically change the situation, but it would result in a lot of backlash and ultimately not improve anything -- in fact, it would probably make things worse.
    Last edited by Morality Games; 06-27-11 at 08:50 PM.
    If you notice something good in yourself, give credit to God, not to yourself, but be certain the evil you commit is always your own and yours to acknowledge.

    St. Benedict

  6. #16
    Global Moderator
    Truth will set you free
    digsbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Metro Washington DC
    Last Seen
    Today @ 01:49 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Other
    Posts
    18,990

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    I'm glad I didn't vote for him. My opinion of him is that he's an arrogant hypocrite and is unfit to lead.
    When the debate is lost, slander becomes the tool of the loser. -Socrates
    Tired of elections being between the lesser of two evils.

  7. #17
    Advisor Swizz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Last Seen
    12-05-12 @ 11:33 PM
    Lean
    Liberal
    Posts
    351

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Glad I voted for him. Has gotten a whole lot of his campaign promises fulfilled that I didn't necessarily expect (health care legislation, financial regulatory reform, repeal of Don't Ask Don't Tell, killing of Osama bin Laden, drawdown in Iraq, escalation in Afghanistan), and I am certainly still convinced that a John McCain presidency would've been much worse.

  8. #18
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    In your dreams...
    Last Seen
    05-29-12 @ 02:53 PM
    Lean
    Independent
    Posts
    10,621

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    I dont mind him, I think he does good for the context of the situation the country's in. I think if some more people tasted the breadine they'd be speaking differently... as in hating him just as much for other reasons.

  9. #19
    Student SPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Missouri
    Last Seen
    10-02-11 @ 06:20 PM
    Gender
    Lean
    Very Conservative
    Posts
    215

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Obama has already made things worse.

  10. #20
    Sage
    Ikari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Last Seen
    12-08-17 @ 01:05 AM
    Gender
    Lean
    Libertarian - Left
    Posts
    54,124

    Re: What is your opinion of Barack Obama now?

    Quote Originally Posted by SPC View Post
    Obama has already made things worse.
    When was the last time a President made something better?
    You know the time is right to take control, we gotta take offense against the status quo

    Quote Originally Posted by A. de Tocqueville
    "I should have loved freedom, I believe, at all times, but in the time in which we live I am ready to worship it."

Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •